2013 Club Round 8

Max Tobin Junior Division winner

Photo above of Junior division winner Max Tobin – Club Round 8

Sunday 8th December 2013 – The final club round of 2013 saw a great pop in the swell and an incoming tide all morning deliver 3-4ft waves through the central bank at D’bah.

The Kirra crew lapped it up with the early offshore winds providing silky smooth faces and the occasional barrel, allowing all competitors the chance to showcase their skills and ultimately determine the overall 2013 point score placings across each division.

Most improved surfer of the round was Paul Posadas who made it through to the final of the cadet division for the 2nd comp in a row demonstrating great turns on his new board. Paul won a Volcom gift card for his improvement and demonstrated to all that the training and coaching he has been receiving is paying off. Well done Paul.

Best manouvre of the round was the take off and drop by 11 yr old grom, Luke Vidler, on a double overhead set wave. Luke dropped vertically down the face of the wave and just before the nose of his board became submerged at the base of the wave, he managed to lean back and drive a bottom turn like he was Mick Fanning at backdoor Pipeline. Well done Luke

Thanks again to Volcom for the prizes which were shared across the surfers in each division and Grill’d Coolangatta for the burger vouchers

Finally thanks to all the parents and kids who judged across the day and Jenny and the crew for preparing and cooking the BBQ to feed the hungry surfers & judges.

Final results, Club Round 8 for 2013, for each division were;

Grommets; 1st – Luke Vidler, 2nd – Holly Clarke, 3rd – Lewis, 4th – Jarrah Potts

Cadets; 1st – Blaine Robinson, 2nd – Jai Ross, 3rd – Josh Atkins, 4th – Paul Posadas

Juniors; 1st – Max Tobin, 2nd – Blaine Robinson, 3rd – Jai Ross, 4th – Dylan Totten

Masters; 1st – Paul Ross, 2nd – Mike Tobin, 3rd – Phil Brown, 4th – Bernie Vidler 5th – Hugh Pierpont

Next event is the Kirra Surfriders Club 2013 Presentation & Christmas party on Saturday 21st December commencing at 3.30pm (Qld time) at the Kirra Sports Club.

Photos below from Club Round 8 – taken by Mike