Kirra Places 2nd at Jim Beam Surftag Queensland Titles

Kirra yesterday placed 2nd in the final at the Queensland leg of the Jim Beam National Surftag series held in 2ft surf at Duranbah Beach.

Twenty one teams representing clubs from Noosa in the North through to Balina in the South, competed at the event seeking to at least make the semi’s to qualify for the national titles. The Kirra team surfed strong through the early rounds knocking out teams from Byron Bay, MNM, Kingscliff & last year’s national series winners, Le-Ba, along the way.

In a closely contested final, D’bah boardriders took first with a total score of 91.8 points from the 2nd placed Kirra team (73.07) with Noosa (67.67) in 3rd  and  Snapper Rocks B (65.83) in 4th.

Competing for Kirra were powerhouse surfers Corey Ziems, Asher Pacey, Mitch Duggan, Sam Clift & Jake Cumberland.

The fresh legs of Andre Teixeira replaced Mitch Duggan for the final, which gave Kirra the extra boost it needed to almost take home the winners cheque.

For their efforts the Kirra Team received $750 in prizemoney which was distributed across the competing team members.

The Kirra team will now compete at the National Jim Beam Surftag finals to be held at Duranbah Beach in April this year.

Congratulations to the Kirra team from all the crew at Kirra Surfriders and good luck at the National finals.

Mitch Duggan surfing for Kirra at the Queensland Jim Beam Surftag Titles – Image courtesy of Darren Simondson, Surfin Snapps


Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.