Kirra places 8th at National Finals of Australian Boardriders Battle

Kirra Team & support crew applaud 1st round win of pairs

Congratulations to the Kirra Surfriders Club team of Andre Teixeira, Asher Pacey, Corey Ziems, Max Tobin, Blaine Robinson, Ashlee Spence and Kira-lee O’Conner who competed across the Australia day weekend at the National Finals of the Australian Boardriders Battle at Cronulla.
The event was huge and was broadcast live on Fuel TV each day. Kirra started off well with a first round win to our pairs surfers Corey & Ashlee early on day 1. Asher then took a 3rd in the first round of the skins.
Kirra then had to surf against Yallingup (which featured Taj Barrow), Cronulla and Elouera in round 1 of the tag team. With 10 mins remaining, the Kirra team were equal 2nd with Elouera on points with each of our final surfers remaining, so the team were confident we could nail the 2nd place required to progress to the Semi Final. Elouera then secured a mid range score with 5 mins remaining and then the ocean went flat denying our final surfer the chance to better the Elouera score. This resulted in a 3rd in round 1 of the tag team for Kirra (we did beat Cronulla though!!)
At the start of day 2 our pairs unfortunately lost the quarter finals in a close fought pairs heat to Cronulla, leaving our Skins surfer, Asher, as the only remaining opportunity to boost Kirra’s points for the remainder of the event. Asher then surfed in heat 2 of round 2 of the Skins and came away with a win, beating 2012 ASP World Champion “Parko” in the process. This gave Kirra a bonus 500 points as well as some extra $$$ that ultimately helped pay for the trip.
In summary, despite missing some of the club’s big names, the team, predominately made up of surfers from our junior ranks, along with 3 seasoned Kirra team surfers in Andre, Asher & Corey, managed an 8th placing overall. Well done to all the team and a great experience for all our juniors who competed, who no doubt will be flying the flag for Kirra at many teams events in the future as open surfers.
Final results for all teams competing across the weekend were as follows;
1 – Snapper Rocks Surfriders (QLD) 3780
2 – Elouera Boardriders (NSW) 3250
3 – Merewether Surfboard Club (NSW) 3020
4 – Queenscliff Boardriders (NSW) 2870
5 – Yallingup Boardriders (WA) 2860
6 – North Narrabeen Boardriders (NSW) 2660
7 – Seaford Boardriders (SA) 2650
8 – Kirra Surfriders (QLD) 2550
9 – Werri Boardriders (NSW) 2490
10 – Avoca Boardriders (NSW) 2470
11 – Cronulla Sharks Boardriders (NSW) 2450
12 – Torquay Boardriders (VIC) 2350
13 – 13th Beach Boardriders (VIC) 2150
14 – D-Bah Boardriders (QLD) 2150
15 – Margaret River Boardriders (WA) 2150
16 – South Arm Boardriders (TAS) 2050
Thanks also to team manager Rob Totten, team caterer Jenny Sheehan and the rest of the support crew and parents who also travelled to Cronulla to cheer on our team.
Photo above – the Kirra team and support crew applaud Kirra’s first round pairs win
Photos below of the team competing across the weekend taken by Mike





Comments are closed.