Final Results JKTC 2102

Winners of the Kirra Teams Challeneg 2012 – Snapper Rocks Surfriders

Snapper Rocks Surfriders is flying high after taking down Australia’s best junior surfers to win the inaugural Junior Kirra Teams Challenge 2012 at Duranbah, NSW today.

In clean 3-4ft waves, Snapper‘s all-star team of Mitch Parkinson, Kyuss King, Leonard Rawlings, Quinn Bruce, Sheldon Simkus and Josh Glennon were too good for their rivals, besting Noosa, Nth Narrabeen and Kirra.

Snapper finishing with three heat wins and three seconds to amass a 21-point winning total. Noosa, Narrabeen and Kirra finishing second to fourth place respectively after a count back was needed to split their 20-point totals.

“We’re so stoked with the win,” said Snapper Rocks Surfriders surfer Mitch Parkinson.

“The surf has been very flat for the past month so it was great to get some really contestable surf for the event. Thanks to Kirra Surfriders for putting on the event and to all of the other clubs from all over Australia.”

The Snapper club have won a two-day coaching camp at the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre at Casuarina as well as $600.

The Kirra A team of Dextar Muskens, Dylan Totten, Korbin Hutchings, Blaine Robinson, Jake Cumberland & Max Tobin started off strong with 3 wins out of 3 heats and were one of the leading teams coming into the last round with some very close final round results relegating Kirra to equal 2nd on points and 4th on a countback.

Also competing in the prestigious one-day event was a girls’ team made up of some of the Gold Coast’s best junior female surfers. Their team consisted of Jacinta Green, Alyssa Lock, Kiania Dobben, Naomi McCarthy, Ashlee Spence and Holly Sue Coffey.

Hosted by Kirra Surfriders Club, the Junior Kirra Teams Challenge 2012 is regarded as the world’s largest junior inter-club surfing teams event

More 130 surfers from 17 boardriders clubs from Queensland and New South Wales competed in the event, which follows the same format as the Volcom Kirra Teams Challenge with each club submitting teams of six including two Under 14 surfers, two Under 16 surfers and two Under 18 surfers. is an interactive website designed to help people improve their surfing. It provides instructional video packages and training cards for all levels of surfing.

The Junior Kirra Teams Challenge 2012 is proudly supported by Kirra Surfriders Club, Surfing Australia, the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre, Surfing Queensland, the Australian Government’s Illicit Drugs In Sport (IDIS) program, Volcom, Fox Surf Australia, Banana Wax, Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club and Pushshove.

Final Results:

1st Snapper Rocks Surfriders – 21 points

2nd Noosa Boardriders – 20 points (4 wins, 1 x 2nd and 1 x 4th) (72.09 combined total)

3rd Nth Narrabeen – 20 points (4 wins, 1 x 2nd and 1 x 4th) (67.50 combined total)

4rd Kirra Surfriders – 20 points (4 wins and 2 x 3rd)

Click here for final team placings

Click here for full final heat summary