Lost Mayhem Board Giveaway During KTC 2014


Lost Mayhem have joined the party with the Kirra Surfriders Club and are donating a custom factory Nanotuned Lost Mayhem surfboard, to be raffled off during the Kirra Teams Challenge being held on the best waves between Kirra & D’bah from the 14th to 16th of March 2014.

Tickets will be sold for $10 each during the 3 day event, so a pretty good investment considering the Lost Mayhem boards retail for more than $800

The winner of the raffle will be able to choose the model they want, from the extensive Lost Mayhem board range. All proceeds of the surfboard raffle go toward helping Kirra host more great teams events for the best junior and open club surfers in the country.

For more info on Matt “Mayhem” Biolos, their team surfers and the Lost Mayhem range of boards visit their website at http://www.lostsurfboards.net/surfboards/

See you at the Kirra Teams Challenge

Club Round 1 & Sign on Day, Sunday 9th February 2014

The Kirra Surfriders Club first club round for the year will be held on Sunday 9th February 2014, with a 7.30am (QLD time) start for the Groms, Cadet & Junior divisions with Opens, Masters & Women to be signed on before an approximate 10.30am start.

The 9th of February 2014 will also be the sign on day for all new members as well as for existing members to renew their memberships for 2014.

Comp could be held at Kirra, D’bah or Northern NSW (within 30 min drive from Kirra) depending upon swell and wind conditions.

Text will be sent to all members on the Saturday night prior advising likely location and posted on Kirra’s Facebook page also early Sunday morning. If you are not receiving club texts please text your name and mobile number to Mike on 0414 422 502

Please contact the committee if you have any questions.


Kirra places 8th at National Finals of Australian Boardriders Battle

Kirra Team & support crew applaud 1st round win of pairs

Congratulations to the Kirra Surfriders Club team of Andre Teixeira, Asher Pacey, Corey Ziems, Max Tobin, Blaine Robinson, Ashlee Spence and Kira-lee O’Conner who competed across the Australia day weekend at the National Finals of the Australian Boardriders Battle at Cronulla.
The event was huge and was broadcast live on Fuel TV each day. Kirra started off well with a first round win to our pairs surfers Corey & Ashlee early on day 1. Asher then took a 3rd in the first round of the skins.
Kirra then had to surf against Yallingup (which featured Taj Barrow), Cronulla and Elouera in round 1 of the tag team. With 10 mins remaining, the Kirra team were equal 2nd with Elouera on points with each of our final surfers remaining, so the team were confident we could nail the 2nd place required to progress to the Semi Final. Elouera then secured a mid range score with 5 mins remaining and then the ocean went flat denying our final surfer the chance to better the Elouera score. This resulted in a 3rd in round 1 of the tag team for Kirra (we did beat Cronulla though!!)
At the start of day 2 our pairs unfortunately lost the quarter finals in a close fought pairs heat to Cronulla, leaving our Skins surfer, Asher, as the only remaining opportunity to boost Kirra’s points for the remainder of the event. Asher then surfed in heat 2 of round 2 of the Skins and came away with a win, beating 2012 ASP World Champion “Parko” in the process. This gave Kirra a bonus 500 points as well as some extra $$$ that ultimately helped pay for the trip.
In summary, despite missing some of the club’s big names, the team, predominately made up of surfers from our junior ranks, along with 3 seasoned Kirra team surfers in Andre, Asher & Corey, managed an 8th placing overall. Well done to all the team and a great experience for all our juniors who competed, who no doubt will be flying the flag for Kirra at many teams events in the future as open surfers.
Final results for all teams competing across the weekend were as follows;
1 – Snapper Rocks Surfriders (QLD) 3780
2 – Elouera Boardriders (NSW) 3250
3 – Merewether Surfboard Club (NSW) 3020
4 – Queenscliff Boardriders (NSW) 2870
5 – Yallingup Boardriders (WA) 2860
6 – North Narrabeen Boardriders (NSW) 2660
7 – Seaford Boardriders (SA) 2650
8 – Kirra Surfriders (QLD) 2550
9 – Werri Boardriders (NSW) 2490
10 – Avoca Boardriders (NSW) 2470
11 – Cronulla Sharks Boardriders (NSW) 2450
12 – Torquay Boardriders (VIC) 2350
13 – 13th Beach Boardriders (VIC) 2150
14 – D-Bah Boardriders (QLD) 2150
15 – Margaret River Boardriders (WA) 2150
16 – South Arm Boardriders (TAS) 2050
Thanks also to team manager Rob Totten, team caterer Jenny Sheehan and the rest of the support crew and parents who also travelled to Cronulla to cheer on our team.
Photo above – the Kirra team and support crew applaud Kirra’s first round pairs win
Photos below of the team competing across the weekend taken by Mike





Open Club Championship Round 1 & Sign on Day this Sunday 5th January 2014

The Kirra Surfriders Club 2014 Open Club Championship round 1 will be held at D’bah beach on Sunday 5th January 2014, sign on by 7.30am for 8am start (QLD time).

The 5th of January 2014 will also be the sign on day for all new members as well as for existing members to renew their memberships for 2014.

The three open club championship rounds to be held during 2014, are open to open age surfers who in the opinion of the Contest Committee have the necessary skill to compete at this level. The top 4 ranked Juniors from the 2013 pointscore will also automatically be included along with other invited participants as chosen by the Contest Committee.

An independent Surfing Australia accredited Judge will be the head judge for the day.

The winner of the Kirra Club Championships (best 2 of the 3 rounds held across 2014) will also receive $500 and will represent the club at the Jim Beam Boardriders Cup Australian Final to be held in 2015, where they will compete against surfers from more than seventy Boardriding Club’s from NSW, QLD, WA, VIC and SA, with the JBBRC Australian Champion winning additional money and prizes.

All open age Kirra members, past & present, are encouraged to attend and compete to see who will be crowned the 2014 Club Champion. Any questions about this Sunday call our club Secretary Phil on 0420 576 944

Photo below of Andre Teixeira, Kirra Open Club Championship winner 2013

Andre Teixeira Kirra Open Club champs winner 2013

2013 Presentation and Christmas Party

2013 Club round Pointscore Trophies

The 2013 Kirra Surfriders Club annual presentation and Christmas party was held at the Kirra Sports club on Saturday 21 December 2013. Members, parents and friends had a great afternoon celebrating a fantastic year for the club as well as congratulating all our pointscore division winners and placegetters as well as those receiving perpetual trophies.

Click here to read the full story

Mick Fanning Wins The World Title

Mick with World Title Trophy

Mick Fanning has won his third world surfing title with a thrilling victory over Yadin Nicol in the quarter-finals of the Pipe Masters in Hawaii.

Needing to make the semi-finals to shut out his only challenger, 11-time champion Kelly Slater, Fanning had to win the quarter final against Nicol, to win the world title.

Nicol, posted a 9.33 and then a 7.57 ride to record 16.9 points, early in the heat. Fanning then needed to score a 9.53 to win the quarter final and the world title and with 2 minutes remaining, pulled into a bomb, rode the barrel deep, came out with the spit and scored a 9.7 to claim the world title.

Fanning was on the sand, mobbed by supporters, waiting for the judges’ scores to be announced. He was then raised onto the shoulders of last year’s world champion, Joel Parkinson, and was totally overwhelmed.

Congrats Mick from all the crew at the Kirra Surfriders Club. The celebrations have already started at Kirra. What an Epic year. Yeeeooww!!